hayniemissionaries

The Adventures of Shandi (Jacksonville, Florida Mission)

“So long, farewell” ft. FLO RIDA

on April 9, 2018

Well. The time has come for me to go the way of all the earth.

 This will be my last weekly email (praise to the man I don’t have to write these things anymore) because next P-day they take all of the departing missionaries to the beach to try and distract them from the fact that their heart is about to break into a million pieces and one the best experiences of mortality is over. Therefore, I will not be emailing next week because I will probably be seeing most of you in the flesh shortly thereafter.
Much like the beloved prophet Nephi I am not “mighty in writing like unto speaking” (2 nephi 33:1. good chapter. 10/10 would recommend) so this email will most likely be a dissappointment if you were expecting something really great and sentimental, but like HOW AM I EVEN SUPPOSED TO SUM UP 18 MONTHS IN ONE DADGUM EMAIL. So, if you wanna actually hear more about this blessed time you’ll have to come to my homecoming or take me to to dinner or somethin’
I love to be a missionary.
I love northern Florida and Georgia. Macclenny, St.Mary’s/Kingsland, Ocala, and West Jacksonville will forever hold special places in my heart.
I LOVE my companions. Sister Armstrong, Sister Stepherson, Sister Knight, Sister Esquerra, Sister Sorensen, Sister Henriod, Sister Gabbitas, Sister Ridenour, and Sister Perry are all going straight to the celestial kingdom for having to be my companion. I would not be who I am today without their testimonies, experiences, and love.
I love my Savior. His Atonement not only saves us as we make covenants with Him, but it changes and enables us. Because of Him your mosquito bites don’t itch quite as bad. Because of Him the sweat dripping down your face and into your eyes doesn’t bother you. Because of him you are able to wake up at 6:30 AM every morning for 18 months and put in 13 hour days sharing the restored gospel with people who may or may not hate you, but you still LOVE it. All of that is possible because of him.
I know that the simple truths of the gospel of Jesus Christ are what save us and make us happy. Faith, repentance, baptism, receiving the Gift of the Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end is the recipe for a happy life. I know this because I am truly happy.
I know that the Book of Mormon is unequivocally the word of God. I know that Jesus Christ’s church was restored to the earth through the Prophet Joseph Smith, and that he did in fact see Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ. I know this because the Holy Ghost, even the third member of the Godhead, has witnessed to me that this is true.
What a blessing it is to know that Jesus Christ’s church is here! His authority to be baptized, be clean, receive the Holy Ghost, and have our families FOREVER is on the earth and is available to all of us!
I have loved every second of declaring this good news to all the inhabitants of the earth (but mostly FL) and will continue to do so for the rest of eternity.
This has been the most worthwhile experience of my life.
I love to be a disciple of Jesus Christ.
Also, this last week was seriously amazing. SO many miracles. I’ll tell you more about it later, but Diana and Fabian and Jeannine and Grace are all getting baptized.
Also my homecoming is on April 22nd @ 11 AM
Address: 1650 W Center St. Cedar City UT, 84720
Here are some photos:
1. I FINALLY SAW A REAL LIFE ALLIGATOR. the church is true.
2. Our new Office of The First Presidency pic w/ Bishop Nhiev
3. The last of Sister Shandingotheflamingo
4. Sister Ridenour skyped into our lesson with Grace. I almost cried.
5-6. Remember that one miracle investigator named John that was in Gospel Principles and said he wanted to get baptized?? HE DID! We referred him to the elders half way through the teaching process because he lived pretty far out of our area, but it was so neat to still get to be a part of it. I swear my companion was in the room. She was just sitting with our investigators.
7. Goodbye Jacksonville. I sure love ya.
20180402_133407(0)IMG_719020180402_123950Screenshot_20180404-194157FB_IMG_1523288500048FB_IMG_1523288529982received_10214089828513655

Leave a comment